Fiestas de Santa Fe is an annual celebration in honor of La Conquistadora that dates back to 1712. I was born during that celebration in 1983, and in 1998, my sister was crowned Fiesta Queen. I had never been more proud to stand in front of a gymnasium full of kids when the Fiesta court visited my high school and my sister crowned me queen for the day. My mom won this necklace at a fiestacita during that time and recently passed it on to me. I cannot think of a more appropriate woman to represent the time of year that I was born than La Conquistadora. Not only does Mary represent for me the feminine side of the universe, this particular representation of the Virgin has over 200 custom made dresses and thousands of dollars in jewelry. I am honored that my mom entrusted this gift to me. I am her Fiesta baby.

